Thursday, August 19, 2010

Day 7 - Entire Day

So I should've written this before, because it just made me kinda fall behind, but I was being lazy.

Okay, so we went over to S & B's - after aikido, of course, because when you're not fasting, you don't understand exactly how exhausting it is to roll and flip and drop. Anyway, we were worried that we were going to be late, because the party was supposed to start at four so all the girls could hang out before Iftar. Fortunately, though, it seems like everyone got the 'come late' memo, so we got there right on time.

THE HOUSE WAS PACKED. I mean, I saw people I hadn't seen in like years. I forgot that it was S & B's mom's birthday, so she was really pulling out the stops with the invites. The doorbell was ringing every other second.

The bad side to this was the fact that the house got hot and sweaty really fast because of all the bodies, so we all crammed onto the balcony - except my brother, who insisted that all of the weight from us girls was going to bring the whole thing down. S thought that was hilarious. She and my brother have this rivalry going on, even though she is much older than him.

So anyways, S's mom asked if my friend Kam could give a little lecture, because she's really good at public speaking and all of us were together and she and my mom have this habit of stopping the fun by making us all sit down and contemplate life.

Okay.

Kam spoke about how God wants us to turn to Him, and then she got all emotional and started crying. My mom started crying. Pretty much every mom started crying, and us girls were left sitting feeling bad - or maybe that's just me - because our hearts were too hard to understand what touched them.

I get that feeling a lot. Around me, I see people crying and being touched because of something about religiousness, and I'm left standing there feeling like a hypocrite because I don't seem to feel it.

Is there something wrong with me?

After that, we ate a lot of good Indonesian food - lo mein FTW - and hung around until everyone started to leave one by one. We got to stay until ten, which was awesome because my dad has this thing about us getting home after dark.

So I guess that was pretty much it - other than the fact that S pretty much volunteered me to have an iftar party on the 28th. My mom thought it was a good idea, so now I'm hostess. All I can say is that I hope that no one expects me to cram thirty-plus people into our house.

0 comments:

Post a Comment